The Hair

by Elisabet

For prom I chose to go with a classic French Twist updo. I wanted something that was simple, elegant, and chic to go with my dress and shoes. I didn’t want anything that would be too busy or something that would distract from the main attention, but something that people would still notice. I also didn’t want the typical curly-curls hairstyle that is normally seen at proms, as was seen at mine. People either had their hair straight down or in some form of curls. Not saying there is anything wrong with that, it’s just not for me and it was not a route that I wanted to take. 

I got my hair done at the ULTA salon that is at the back of the stores. They were super busy, but I managed to squeeze in a time for me, especially since I only made my appointment that Thursday (and Prom was Friday), but it all worked out! I sat in the chair for about an hour, maybe a little longer. The girl straightened my hair really nicely and sprayed numerous amounts of hairspray, with the end result being the gorgeous french twist you see. She was also the one who suggested those really pretty clips to put into my hair, to tie everything together nicely. Being prom Friday, there of course were other girls at the salon, and like I mentioned earlier, all of them were getting something to do with curls and that half-up-half-down style. The lady did a great job with my hair and I would go back at any time to ULTA to get my hair done.

What sold me on the french twist was actually a picture of Natalie Portman at the 2011 Golden Globes.

Before deciding on the french twist, I was also thinking about getting a sleek bun or chignon or a side bun; way before I did actually decide on getting an updo I was actually thinking about getting waves put into my hair (which is currently cut into a lob) to give it a softness. However, once I actually started to think about my dress and that waves would be too distracting I decided on actually getting an updo. ♥

