Happy Birthday Keira Knightley

by Elisabet

Today, March 26, 2011, is Keira Knightley’s birthday, and the young lady turns 26. Isn’t it ironic that on the 26 of March, she turns 26? Hilarious. Personally, I regard Knightley as a truly brilliant, amazing actress. Some people prefer not to like her, for whatever reason, but then again I could be completely biased towards her  considering she dominates the period film, which I am a huge fan of. One of my most favorite films stars Keira Knightley, Pride and Prejudice. However, that is not the first film that introduced a young aspiring historian and self proclaimed film buff. At the mere young age of 17 (I’m guessing), Knightley starred in the football-themed movie Bend It Like Beckham. When I saw  that film, I didn’t really know who she was, and for a while afterwards, I didn’t really care, I just liked the movie. Later though, when she started maturing as an actress, and I started growing consciously as a film buff, I picked up her name seriously. Probably ever since, Keira Knightley to me has been one of my favorite actresses, if not the favorite. Though it may cause some worry that she would be typecast to only period drama, her variety in acting is seen in such films. She can play a strong and independent royal who has a stubborn persona, The Duchess; or she can play a vulnerable free thinking, witty, and again independent character, The Edge of Love. Some of my personal favorites of the movies she has acted in are The Duchess, The Edge of Love, Silk, Love Actually, Pride and Prejudice, Bend It Like Beckham, and POTC. A more recent movie of hers that I want to see is Last Night, which I am going to search for everywhere.

To me, she is more than an actress, she is a lady. Other than being an amazing actress, one of the reasons I truly like her is because she is not a tabloid-ridden woman. I prefer it if I don’t know much about the personal lives of the actresses I follow. Of course I don’t know her in real life, but she seems like a truly elegant and classy lady, which I am only inferring from her style choices. She wears her clothing with confidence, including every one of those gorgeous red carpet dresses. She serves up a platter of so much inspiration for me personally.

I think it would be an understatement for me to say that I like her and am a huge fan, I definitely have a girl crush on her.

Her red carpet looks are daring, and her street style is cool.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*currently listening to Alice In Wonderland film score by Danny Elfman

[style.com, google images]

