Imported: The Italian Job

by Elisabet

This post was imported from a blog that I did for a a couple months as a column-writing project for my Production Journalism class. On Nomadic Style I wrote about style and fashion inspiration that spanned various fashionable regions. The blog posts included wanderlust, which is another attribute of this blog; they also have some travel inspiration. As part of the project, I also had to reply to my classmates’ blog and a professional blogger of our choice, and I chose Garance Dore to respond to. I didn’t import the responses, but they can be found on that blog. I don’t blog on there anymore because it was a project, but I chose to import the style posts onto this blog because I like them so much.

Italians certainly know how to do many things well, including knowing how to dress well. But, not only do they know howto dress well, they know how to properly [read tastefully] show everyone that they are good at doing so. They are masters in their craft of dressing well, and therefore they are allowed to flaunt this, just like any one would do with a prized possession of theirs. From my observation, and I say this carefully, Italian fashionistas do not get dressed every morning with the goal of keeping their clothing subtle.
With one look on any street style blog that features the fashion savvy Italians, it can be seen that they do opt for more flamboyant choices in fashion. It’s not so much in a show-off way, but instead in a way to happily share with the world something that makes them happy; well, that’s my excuse anyway, or would be if I were an Italian flaunting my noticeable Miu Miu bird heels dress or a clean cut Versace F/W 2011 RTW dress.
Italian style is daring, but not like the way I described with Londoners, who are daring with funky and unique pieces. Italians are daring in the sense that they are willing to take an uncertain leap, and try things that we mere mortals would think deem untouchable. Much of this, I believe, has to do with their attitude and personality, as even when they are simply wearing something as “relaxed” as jeans and sneakers, their outfit screams for attention for anyone willing to look.
Chiara Ferragni’s (of The Blonde Salad) signature look is not something that can be bought at the store, but it is instead something that is representation of her lively personality – her smile and lively expression. With this, she brings alive the clothes on her back.
Fashion houses like Gucci, Prada, and Versace are synonymous with epic Italian style. It’s not like Donatella Versace herself is someone hidden away behind the scenes in drab knits, letting her clothes do the talking. On the red carpet and in interviews, what she is wearing is exactly what she is designing. I would like to describe some of her clothing as controversial, but I feel that would be going too far; to say the least, usually what she is wearing is pushing boundaries, and more often than not, she is wearing clothing that not a lot of women around her age range would wear. 
I saw the documentary Valentino, The Last Emperor a few weeks ago, and I noticed that what we see on the runway from Italian designers, is basically what is put into them during the design process – intensity, passion, heat, love and life. That’s not to say that any other designer from another region of the world doesn’t evoke passion, but it’s more of the manner and how it is done. Valentino Red is practically synonymous with the adjectives I stated. Watching Valentino sketch and design his dresses was not a muted, quiet affair, but instead one that often involved him getting heated up because he wanted the final copy to emit his emotions perfectly. For example, the idea for one dress came from a dream he had seen, and he wouldn’t settle for anything less than what he saw and felt in the dream.
To leave this on a good note, Italian style can’t be limited by my descriptions above. Like Donatella Versace, it pushes the limits beyond definition. Perhaps there is so much passion, or too much intensity [for some people], but it cannot be contained, and cannot be imitated by everyone. ♥
[style.com]
