Imported: Paris, Je T’Aime

by Elisabet

This post was imported from a blog that I did for a a couple months as a column-writing project for my Production Journalism class. On Nomadic Style I wrote about style and fashion inspiration that spanned various fashionable regions. The blog posts included wanderlust, which is another attribute of this blog; they also have some travel inspiration. As part of the project, I also had to reply to my classmates’ blog and a professional blogger of our choice, and I chose Garance Dore to respond to. I didn’t import the responses, but they can be found on that blog. I don’t blog on there anymore because it was a project, but I chose to import the style posts onto this blog because I like them so much.
As the various Fashion Weeks wrap up, Paris Fashion Week is upon us. As I can only dream about attending it, I must rely on the vast resources shared through the web, including various blogs like The Blonde Salad and Garance Dore (who is actually French), The Cut, and Style [dot] come. I read about different bloggers who post about the latest show they attended, also posting outfit posts of what they wore to Dior or Chloe. *sigh* One day. One day. But for now I will marvel and write about the Parissienne (and on a wider base French) chic that I am a fan of. To celebrate Parissienne fashion, one must know what it is. Looking at streetstyle first, I have noticed a pattern with those who so boldly own their outfits. 
  • Staples include pretty neutral and pastel colours of the necessary basics, and of course statement pieces are always a must! I don’t believe I have ever seen a Parissienne on streetpeeper or lookbook.nu without some sort of eye-catching piece, whether it be a screaming Balenciaga purse or avante-garde shoes. 
  • Clothing is consistent, including the colours, which are representations of the soft colours of Paris (I’m assuming and making my judgement only from pictures), and they usually stay within the rage of soft pastels like different blushes, browns, blues, grays, and of course no region could do without some black. However, when strong colour is involved, it is often rich and comes in the form of a statement piece, which can also be a pair of silk or wool trousers. 
  • Confidence is key: French women in general always carry the clothing on their backs with pride, smiling into the camera, knowing that everyone covets their look. They are good at making seemingly impossible pieces look wearable. Now, I know for a fact that if I tried something I saw a French woman wearing, I would understand that it is not 100% certain that I would get away with wearing the same piece. 
  • Another key thing with the fashion of Paris is that there is a pretty factor. Almost every single time I look at some street photograph or outfit post of someone either from or living in Paris, it is a very pretty and pleasant, eye-pleasing picture to look at. I believe that it always holds true that even if the outfit is all black or as simple as can be, it is always always pretty.












This week, a personal favorite of mine was Emanuel Ungaro. There was a mixture of contemporary design with small hints of romance, like the beginning outfit with the black jumpsuit and sheer overlay covering the top half of the body extending to the arms. Throughout the show one thing was evident: sexiness. From the first girl’s outfit (forgot her name!) to Jessica Stam’s and Kirsi Pyrhonen’s, the idea of a French woman’s secret (her sexiness) is seen, as models could be covered head-to-toe in black and still be found appealing and attractive. It’s all in the clothes! ♥



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[tumblr, streetpeeper, style.com]

