Cyberspace Traveler’s Bug

by Elisabet

It appears I show all of the signs of having caught the inconvenient traveler’s bug, just through a different medium other than physical. I have been doing a bit of traveling through the ah-mazing website Vimeo, which, I am well aware you ought to be acquainted with by now. Through the ‘Travel and Events’ category I have been able to somewhat experience places over lapses of time and truly know that I do, indeed, want to one day visit such sights in my physical form. I feel entirely obliged to remark that my favorite form of Vimeo travel would most definitely have to be the time lapse – as this form allows one to feel the destination through various times. I have already observed the time lapses of home (Finland) and Dubai, and caught glimpses of various other cities. Experiencing these things from the ease of my Macbook have maybe not been as peaceful and serene as the physical, however, they have been enough to force my thoughts to think about the bigger picture and the broader world.

Over one video (which was about a certain aquarium) I randomly started shedding my humble tears for no apparent reason, luckily – for my sanity – I was not the only one who had this wondrous experience, which I account to being humbled. Although Vimeo might seem like a frightening world at first, once one’s feet have been placed and the right experiences have been brought, everything is more enlightening and eye opening. Not only do these certain videos bring about a broader mind but also they remind us, the viewers, of true beauty.

EDIT (March 14, 2011): I NOW KNOW WHY I WAS SHEDDING THESE TEARS, IT’S BECAUSE I FELT SORROW FOR THOSE ANIMALS IN CAPTIVITY. I FELT THEIR PAIN AND MISERY OF HAVING TO STAY AND BE CONFINED IN A PLACE THAT IS NOT THEIR HOME, AND A PLACE THAT THEY ARE NOT USED TO NOR MEANT TO LIVE IN.

Whether it be the animal videos, nature, or a specific location, we are reminded of beauty; and we must not forget about art. Within each film, or video, whichever, is an artistic quality, even if it is nothing but an observation of nature, as nature is art. I shall not get entangled in my beliefs on nature equaling art and how it ties in with God. Instead, I would rather, for the time being, get entangled with the viewing of such breathtaking observations.

The beauty captured through these videos and many more found on Vimeo is astounding. The vivid colours, the moving clouds, the small details that with the help of a nicely done time lapse makes us realize how, in reality, they are not small after all but instead also contribute to the whole beauty.

Through the above video we get a sense of daily life in Mumbai though we are looking down and fast-forwarded from five days to a 4 minutes and 25 seconds. The colours come out at night to play like the little children, who we do not see from the distance, are inspiring.

Thanks to Vimeo, and no doubt these wonderful film makers I am able to travel from the ease of this very Macbook and the couch, bed, patio, wherever. One day, I’m seeing very soon, I will be able to travel in the physical form, but for the time being, I have Vimeo to accompany me.

videos via Vimeo, they belong to their respectful owners.

E. Hovilainen, currently listening to an array of classical music

P.S. I am working on getting WordPress to embed the videos from Vimeo, until then, please don’t be shy and click.

Update: I got it to work! Again, don’t be shy, press play.

